“Soon…I want to.” (See this revival, that is.)

Since it was announced all those months ago that Catherine Zeta-Jones and Angela Lansbury would be playing Desiree and Madame Armfeldt in the new Broadway revival of Sondheim’s liltingly beautiful A Little Night Music, I’ve been simply dying to see it.  I fell in love with Night Music a few years ago and have become increasingly more in love with it as I’ve gotten older.  I love the structure of the music (every song is written in a variation of waltz time: 3/4, 6/8, 9/8, 12/8…meters with a triple feel.), the story, and of course, Sondheim’s always brilliant lyrics.  I’ve always felt Night Music was a bit underrated in Stephen Sondheim’s canon of work, perhaps even forgotten in the shadow of his masterpieces Sweeney Todd and Sunday in the Park With George, but it’s truly a musical as lovely and delicate as the lace on the country dresses of its female characters.

Having seen Ms. Lansbury in her Tony Award-winning role (well, her fifth, that is) as Madame Arcati in Blithe Spirit last year, I’m absolutely ravenous to see her in a musical.  I’ve listened to her sing “the Worst Pies in London” and “Beauty and the Beast” a few too many times to count, so I feel it would be like fulfilling a life-long dream to see and hear this phenomenal lady live in a musical.  Not only that, but I adore Catherine Zeta-Jones.

Luckily, I’ll be in New York City in mid-March, so I’m planning on making a trip to the Walter Kerr Theatre to see it, and I can’t wait!

One Comment

  1. I am insanely jealous that you’ll get to see this. I saw both casts of OCU’s production and loved it tremendously. I can only imagine the impact it has when the adults are played by adults.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

