My Favorite Moments From the 2010 Vancouver Olympics

First, let me apologize for my absence.  The last week and a half have kept me busy with paper-writing and auditioning for summer work.  You know, typical college performing arts major stuff.  ha.  Now on to the good stuff.

On Sunday, the 2010 Vancouver Winter Olympic Games came to an end while thousands of athletes and millions of viewers watched as Canada brought out some of its best and brightest native talents to celebrate their homeland.  As I sat and watched the ceremony go from funny (spoofing the torch-lighting malfunction of the opening ceremonies) to touching (the tribute to the Georgian luger who tragically died during a training run) to crazy (the Russian presentation for the 2014 Olympics) to campy (William Shatner and giant inflatable beavers!), I thought about all of my favorite moments from my obsessive Olympic-watching.

Without further ado…My Favorite Moments from the 2010 Vancouver Olympics:

Kim Yuna Lives Up to Her Hype The Korean figure skater had a lot, A LOT, of pressure on her little shoulders (she’s a national hero and celebrity), but not only did she live up to her hype as the best female figure skater in the world, she absolutely KILLED the competition.  This is fitting considering her short program is to music from James Bond.  But I digress…after her masterful, gorgeous long program, Kim Yuna (once sent angry letters from her fellow Koreans for getting second in a skating competition) blazed into first place with a score of over 250 points, a new world record.  The silver medalist, Mao Asada of Japan, was more than 22 points behind her.  Awesome!

Apolo Anton Ohno’s Awesome Wins When it comes to speed-skating, nobody has more spectacular wins than Apolo.  My favorite was during the 1500m race where Ohno was sitting in fourth behind the South Koreans coming into the last turn when suddenly a fall took the two in front of him out.  He finished with a silver medal, which tied him with Bonnie Blair for most Olympic medals won by an American (6).  Of course, Ohno now has 8 career medals, making him the most decorated American Winter Olympian.  Plus, the guy has the most positive tweets of any celebrity I follow, and he’s handsome.  What’s not to like?

Shaun White’s 2nd Consecutive Gold Medal Win First, I fully admit to having a crush on the guy once dubbed (or still dubbed?) “the Flying Tomato.”  Shaun, the figure of snowboarding, didn’t disappoint.  After a scary accident at the X Games on an insane new trick, Shaun’s first run at the 2010 Olympics scored him a record 46.8 out of 50.  It was clear no one was going to catch him.  After his main competition scored much lower than that on their second run, Shaun knew he’d won gold and basically did an exhibition-style second run with the most badass, spectacular Double McTwist 1260 I’ve ever seen.  Shaun White is a BAMF.

The Gold Medal Hockey Game: Canada vs. USA I’m not exactly a huge hockey fan, but I wasn’t going to miss watching the hockey game of the Olympics (and probably the century) between Canada and the United States.  Hockey is Canada’s national pastime, much the way Americans cherish baseball and football, so after USA beat Canada in the preliminary match, the Canadian team fought hard to win what they felt was the most important Gold medal of the Olympic games.  The US men, anchored by awesome goalie, Ryan Miller, played spectacularly, forcing the game into sudden-death overtime.  Unfortunately, the Canadian men were able to slip the puck past Miller, winning 3-2.  It was a thrilling match, especially for someone who never watches hockey…like, EVER.

Evan Lysacek Wins the Men’s Figure Skating Gold

For me, this was THE moment of the 2010 games.  I actually jumped to my feet and screamed at my television (possibly alarming my dorm neighbors) when his scores came up.  Evan skated absolutely brilliantly with beautiful footwork, artistry, and clean jumps.  What I love most is that he won without doing a single quadruple jump, a fact which caused much harumph-ing and griping from Yevgeny Plushenko and the Russians.  My future husband kept his composure and class despite the mudslinging coming from Plushenko after medals were awarded.  Not only that, but Evan (my future husband) became the first American man since Brian Boitano in 1988 (my birth year!) to win the men’s figure skating gold.  History in the making!

HONORABLE MENTION

Joannie Rochette She skated a beautiful short program just days after her mother suddenly died.  Then the Canadian figure skater did it again in her long program, after which, the tears flowed from her cheeks.  When she hugged her dad afterwards, there wasn’t a dry eye in the rink.  She rightly earned the bronze medal, which was a fitting tribute to the memory of her mother.  Such amazing strength displayed!

Lindsey Vonn Despite a hurt ankle, the American skier managed to win the gold in Ladies’ Downhill.  While I like Julia Mancuso, I’m glad Lindsey doesn’t wear a tiara every time she gets a medal.

Michael Buble in a Tear-Off Mountie Uniform at Closing Ceremony Need I say more?

2 Comments

    1. Thanks so much! I haven’t been as good about posting the last two-ish weeks due to lots of homework and whatnot at my university (it’s midterms time!), but normally, I post a couple times a week on various pop-culture types of topics. Hope you’ll return again! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

