Women Making History: Oscars 2010

Last Sunday, the rich, famous, beautiful (in some cases, botoxed) faces of Hollywood gathered at the Kodak Theatre for the most important night of the year: the Academy Awards.  Normally, I follow awards season with vigor (as long as the nominated bunch are films I’m really invested in), and the Oscars are one of my favorite nights of the year.

The Hurt Locker took home six Academy Awards overall, but the Academy Award it received I was most excited about was the one that made Oscar history: Kathryn Bigelow became the first ever woman to win Best Director. The fact that the Oscars have been held for 82 years and only 4 women have ever been nominated is ridiculous.  To have a woman finally win will hopefully mean more support, acceptance, and respect for female filmmakers.  Women have been making great strides in film, a heavily male-dominated field.  Female filmmakers like Jane Campion, Nancy Meyers, Nora Ephron, and Mira Nair, just to name a few, have been writing and directing prolifically over the years.  I hope Ms. Bigelow’s big win will shine a light on these talented ladies, because we as women deserve it!  Not only that, but don’t you think it was also just a little bit of a revenge-on-her-ex-husband-James-Cameron moment?  ha.

Now for some snap judgements.

Best Dressed Woman: Sandra Bullock

Runner-up: Demi Moore

Best Dressed Man: Tom Ford (Obviously.)

Best Speech: Sandra Bullock

Runner-up: Michael Giacchino

A Few Favorite Moments: John Hughes tribute, Best Score dance presentation, Neil Patrick Harris’ opening number

Just because I’m a big arts advocate (a topic I’ll discuss at a later date), I’m going to post Best Score winner Michael Giacchino’s (Up) speech.  It was very inspirational:

“When I was nine I asked my dad, “Can I have your movie camera? That old, wind-up 8mm camera that was in your drawer?” And he goes, “Sure, take it.” And I took it and I started making movies with it and I started being as creative as I could, and never once in my life did my parents ever say, “What you’re doing is a waste of time.” Never. And I grew up, I had teachers, I had colleagues, I had people that I worked with all through my life who always told me what you’re doing is not a waste of time. So it was normal to me that it was OK to do that. But  I know there are kids out there that don’t have that support system, so if you’re out there and you’re listening, listen to me: If you want to be creative, get out there and do it. It’s not a waste of time. Do it. OK?”—Michael Giacchino’s acceptance speech at the 2010 Oscars

One Comment

  1. Kathryn Bigelow winning was so huge for female directors everywhere. I was on The Hurt Locker bandwagon, so I was thrilled with all of their wins!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

