Finals Week Distractions Day 2: May the 4th Be With You

On this, my second day of finals week, I didn’t have to look too hard for my daily distraction. 

As many of you know, today is May 4, which is also known as Star Wars Day.  Around the world today, people are changing their Facebook statuses and Tweeting their favorite quotes from Han Solo to Darth Vader to Yoda to even Padme/Amidala (who contributes possibly the worst ever quote, “You’re training to become a Jedi…I’m a senator.”  Fail, George Lucas.  That is just plain awful.).

My Facebook status today comes from my favorite film of the original trilogy, Empire Strikes Back.

Leia: “Why, you stuck up, half-witted, scruffy-looking Nerf herder!”

Han:  “Who’s scruffy-looking?”

Today, nerds of all shapes, sizes, and genders will finally be able to express their geekiness without fear of retribution.  So grab your lightsaber (that’s what she said), put your hair into giant buns, and yell out loud and proud, “MAY THE 4th BE WITH YOU!”

2 Comments

  1. My favorite Padmé quote is her total deadpan line read of “Anakin…you’re breaking my heart!” in Episode III.

    But I firmly believe that Natalie Portman is only about 10% at fault for her dreadful performance in those films. George Lucas simply should not have directed the prequels. And someone should have fixed his screenplays. I’m sorry, I’m really bitter.

    Reply

    1. It’s okay. The new trilogy is pretty icky. Hayden Christensen is beyond awful (which I don’t get, because he’s actually pretty good in the movie “Life as a House”). I actually liked a lot of Revenge of the Sith, but that was just because it was the movie that tied the new to the old trilogy I love so much.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

