Fall Food Obsession: Pumpkin Dip

As any of my friends and family will tell you, I am obsessed with anything pumpkin (seriously…from “It’s the Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown” to pumpkin pie to pumpkin spiced lattes at Starbucks).  My birthday is during the fall (November…it’s coming right up!), so naturally, I love this season and especially the food associated with it.

I just spent the weekend at home for Fall Break from my university, and while I was there, my mother whipped up a scrumptious pumpkin dip for the family to enjoy.  It takes no time at all to make, and it’s a great alternative to pumpkin pie if you’re not quite ready to make that favorite holiday dessert.

PUMPKIN DIP
4 c. powdered sugar
2 (8 oz.) pkgs. cream cheese
1 can (30 oz.) pumpkin pie filling
2 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. ginger

Combine sugar and softened cream cheese until well blended.  Beat in remaining ingredients.  Store in an airtight container in the refrigerator.  Serve with gingersnap cookies or graham crackers.

I personally prefer the dip with graham crackers since they don’t overpower the taste of the pumpkin dip like the gingersnaps.  Feel free to enjoy it while you’re waiting for the Great Pumpkin to appear!

One Comment

Leave a Reply

