6: Monday, Monday, so good to me…

Today, for the first time in a long time, I felt genuinely excited and enthusiastic about my life plans for the next couple of months.  After an hour-long trek to the gym (once again enduring the not-inconspicuous-at-all checking out stares of the male athletes), I received a phone call from the winery, informing me that I would be starting my waitressing job this Wednesday.  To know I will definitely have money coming in all summer is a great relief to me, not only because it means I’ll be more financially secure in a short period of time but also because it means my plan is right on track as far as moving to New York in early fall goes.  Also, I’ve never been a waitress before, and I think it’ll be kind of fun running around a restaurant and meeting all sorts of crazy people (Oh god.  I’ve become an actor cliche.).

I’m being honest when I say I was less than enthusiastic about returning home after graduation.  My ideal plan was to be performing somewhere all summer, pulling in money and building my professional resume, and then I’d move to New York in late summer or early fall.  As I’m finding out, things don’t always go according to plan.  Control what you can control, you know?  Leave the rest to the good Lord in heaven.  hahaha.  Anyway, luckily I had a backup plan: work a “normal job” all summer, save money, and move to New York in the early fall.  Thanks to the winery, I’ll be able to do just that.  Being home for one more summer is made more bearable by knowing I’ll be saving a lot of money and will be in New York with my best friends as scheduled in my original plan.

I’m still having a hard time adjusting to not seeing my best friends on a regular basis.  I feel like I have absolutely NO social life when I’m back in Missouri.  At least, my social life is a lot more sporadic and usually a lot less intoxicated (boo).  It’s something I’m going to try to work on this summer, but with me working a lot, that may not happen.  Still, the thought of me moving to New York in a few months keeps me focused on what’s important this summer and makes me happier than any thought ever has.

In other news, one of my good childhood friends texted me for my address today so she can send me a wedding invitation (this is the same friend who had a child a year or so ago, and I had to go to a baby shower…before age 21.  WEIRD.).  Thus begins my official loathing of weddings because of my lack of that dreaded “and guest”/”plus one” section on the invitation.  I’m not bemoaning the fact I do not have a significant other/boyfriend/manfriend/whatever (Jon Hamm, are you free?  PLEASE be free that day…), I just hate that you’re EXPECTED to bring one with you to these types of events, and if you don’t, you’re looked at like a troll with leprosy or something.  I’m perfectly comfortable with my single-woman status (thank you, OCU), but I just know how these things work at weddings.  Plus, the guest list is going to be all people from high school, many of whom I haven’t seen SINCE high school, so yay for an unwanted, impromptu Class of ’07 reunion.  All I can say is that I think my fashion has improved, and I’m infinitely cooler (at least, I think I am) than I was in those days of locker-side chats and homecoming-float-building.  Maybe I’m just more comfortable in my own skin.  Okay, and I also have wayyyyy more gay friends.

Regardless, my eyes remain on the future…New York is more important than “plus one’s” or high school classmates.  New York is where my future lies, and I will do anything to get there, even if it means waitressing all summer and being looked at like a troll at a friend’s wedding (hopefully not, but we’ll see).  NYC, I’m doing it for YOU.

Leave a Reply

