11: The Day After

Yesterday was supposed to be the end of the world.  As if me writing this doesn’t confirm it already, we’re all still here.  Nothing happened.  There were no earthquakes; no burning rain of death.  In fact, the sun shone brightly all day here yesterday without a cloud in the sky.  On such a beautiful day, it’s hard to even fathom the thought of anything bad happening, let alone the end of the world.  So yesterday passed without a single event of any importance, and when I woke up this morning, I felt more refreshed than ever.

Makes me feel both amused and also sad for those poor people who spent all that money on such a ridiculous cause and its leader, but this isn’t the first time in history a bunch of people have been duped into believing such egregious things (see Hitler and Charles Manson among others…not that I’m comparing Harold Camping to either of those men.)

I slept late today after working such a long shift yesterday at the winery, on my feet for a solid eight hours running around the restaurant.  It felt nice to just lie in bed this morning staring at the ceiling.  I actually do most of my best thinking just staring blankly at my stark white bedroom ceiling.

Anyway, after my mother made a lovely brunch (homemade biscuits with jam, scrambled eggs, and bacon…yum!), I received a call from the winery informing me I could have the day off since it looked like rain, and they had enough people.  Instead of doing something semi-productive like cleaning out my room and closets (a task I STILL am kind of avoiding, and I’m sure this avoidance probably has a psychological reason I’m not paying someone to figure out for me), I spent the better part of my day watching season four of Mad Men with my parents.  We wound up watching eight out of the thirteen episodes.  It’s just such a fantastic piece of television: the writing, the design, the acting.  I would kill to work on a project like that.  It really inspires me when I watch it.  I think about how lucky Jon Hamm (a fellow Missourian!) was to land that project.  It was really his big break, and he’s just incredible to watch.  As a young actor, I learn so much from just watching, especially with this show, and seeing those actors make discoveries and change beats and tactics.  Every episode is like taking an acting class.

In other news, I feel fat today.  I know I need to stop obsessing about my weight and image, but every time I put a piece of pizza in my mouth or eat even a bite of dark chocolate, I feel guilty.  When did that happen?  It’s like I can feel the calories adding onto my body and weighing me down.  That’s probably a really unhealthy mental thing, but that’s how I feel now, especially at home.  We eat better here than we used to, but I still feel this pressure to eat more and the meals are not always as balanced as they should be.  I know my mother just wants to make sure I’m taken care of (she’s like Molly Weasley), but I don’t want or need to eat everything on my plate, and I don’t think she or my dad understand how much my eating habits have kind of changed the last year or so.

(Sigh)  It’s just something I’m going to have to communicate to them better, especially when summer means lots of barbecue (which I love, but I just don’t eat a lot of meat anymore) and sweets like pie (which I also love).  The Broadway Body does not just happen on its own overnight, you know?

Enough body talk.

Maybe I just need an Old Fashioned like Don Draper drinks on Mad Men.  After all, the world didn’t end.  I’m entitled to a celebratory drink, don’t you think?

Leave a Reply

