12: Old Habits Die Hard

We all have habits, good and bad, that we fall into whether it involves behavior, exercise, relationships, or anything in between.  Today, I’ve been thinking a lot about my own habits and the habits of others; not just habits I need to break but also ones I need to keep or start.

Habit to Keep:  Going to the gym

I used to loathe going to the gym just as recently as two or three years ago.  I couldn’t stand the idea of being in a room with a bunch of machines to keep me in shape, having to run and possibly be judged by other gym-goers.  Looking back on it, I think I was just being lazy.  I finally caved and started hitting the gym regularly this past year, and you know what?  I actually like it.  It feels good to sweat out everything, like I’m erasing all the crap I’ve put my body through.  It actually makes me feel more focused too.  More than anything, I like the way I feel afterwards: energized and more fit.

I hit the gym this morning pretty hard, hoping to put myself through my paces after a weekend where I felt I ate a lot of crap (it was delicious, but unhealthy).  I walked out drenched in my own sweat, and I didn’t even care.  I felt better instantly, and there’s nothing like instant gratification to keep me on track.

Habit to Keep:  Dancing and dining with my BFF Nicole

My BFF Nicole and I met up today to go over my choreography for her tap auditions, and it was like old times: dancing together, laughing, and working out ideas for choreography.  She and I have been close friends and dance class partners since we were five.  Somehow, we’ve managed to stay super close all these years even when we were at schools in different states.

Anyway, inevitably we also wind up going to Jalisco’s, our local Mexican restaurant, for food.  I’m not sure why we always wind up there, but it’s become our “thing.”  It doesn’t feel like I’m truly home for the summer until she and I have gone there together.  Tonight, we started talking about people from high school: who’s engaged, who’s pregnant, who’s still around.  We both get annoyed by how those people’s habits never seem to change; they’re still stuck in the prejudices and preconceived ideas they had in high school.  Our five year high school reunions are next year, and we both laughed at the idea of going, especially since no one has changed enough for there to be anything to laugh at or be sad about.  Maybe I’ll go to the ten year reunion, but frankly, I’m more interested in where my career is going.

Habit to Break:  Eating crap while at home

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: we do better about eating healthy at my house, but not as healthy as I eat when I’m not living in my house here.  I can’t be eating pizza or things covered in cream sauces and butter.  I can’t have bacon (something I truly LOVE) every weekend.  I shouldn’t eat ice cream every night after dinner no matter how much I crave it.

Habit to Start:  Eating healthier

I have to try to make my family understand that I actually need to eat more vegetables and vegan options in order to shed some extra weight, tone up more, and just FEEL better in general.  I also need to drink more water to hydrate and flush out my system.

I’m not sure where my relationships fall within these categories, but that’s something I’ll save for another post another day.  For now, I think I’m going to go drink some water.  God knows I sweat out plenty of liquids today.  Gotta replenish.

Leave a Reply

