13: Stormy weather

I don’t have much to talk about today except for the weather.  That’s all anyone in Missouri has been able to talk about the last few days.  One simply has to turn on the TV and see the devastation in Joplin to understand why we’re all agog.  More severe weather hit the state this afternoon with several tornadoes touching down around the state.  As a twenty-two year veteran of tornado season, I can tell you, I can’t remember a tornado season being this bad so fast.  It looks like it’s shaping up to be one of the worst in recent memory.

Sirens started going off early this afternoon: the kind of sirens you hear in movies signaling an apocalypse or alien invasion.  I’m used to this sound; I’ve heard it my whole life during the spring and early summer.  While I’m used to it, sometimes (especially lately given what’s happened in Joplin) it still makes me a little unsettled like something even worse than a tornado is coming.  Even so, my dad and I didn’t take cover since nothing had been spotted around our area, and it was just pouring down rain.  Thankfully, the rain ended in a few minutes time, and the skies cleared up.

Seeing all the destruction in Joplin is just so heartbreaking.  Hearing the stories of people who lost family members and friends not to mention their houses just makes me so sad.  The damage is estimated to be in the billions of dollars and rebuilding everything will take years.  It really puts things into perspective.  Some people lost everything and yet I worry about telling a guy that I like him or what songs to put in my audition book.  It makes all of that seem unimportant and trivial.

Love.  Charity.  Family.  Friendship.  These are important things; things that shouldn’t be taken for granted.  We never should miss an opportunity to tell people we love them.  Carpe diem.  You never know what the weather and LIFE will throw at you.

Leave a Reply

