22: How Time Flies

I hung out with my two long-time best friends, Taylor and Meredith, today for the first time since Christmas break.  We always reunite when the three of us are home, and it’s as if no time has passed at all.  Sure, we have to update each other on what’s been going on at school, but the updates are usually insignificant since we talk to each other all the time anyway through Facebook, email, texts, etc (thank you, technology).

But this time, things were slightly different.

We’ve all graduated from college and are facing the realities of adulthood: jobs, moving, etc (although Taylor still has his added musicology degree to finish up in December).  It’s both weird and exciting to be discussing where we’re moving and what we’ll be doing in a matter of a few months.  I still feel so much like a kid, and yet I don’t at the same time.  It just doesn’t seem possible that we’re all kind of adults.  When did THAT happen?

Luckily, everyone seems set on moving east, so we’ll all be close enough to visit each other.  Taylor wants to go to grad school in New York City and his boyfriend lives there, so we’ll most likely see each other fairly regularly.  Meredith is looking at Washington D.C., Philadelphia, and New York because she wants to work with non-profit organizations or at an embassy.  I’m glad so many of my best friends will be so close.  I don’t know what I’d do without them.

I don’t think it matters how much time passes, our friendship will always feel timeless to me.

Leave a Reply

