26: It’s Just the Near(sighted)ness of You

Day 2 of the new portions of my workout routine aka Tracy Anderson’s ab and arm webisodes.  For those of you unfamiliar with Tracy, she’s a major celebrity personal trainer, working with everyone from Gwyneth Paltrow to Jennifer Aniston to Madonna.  Needless to say, the girl knows her stuff.   What I like about her Method is that she believes in high reps with lots of different sequencing.  She doesn’t like her clients to become bored so she changes their workout routines every 10 days to insure maximum muscle confusion.  I like the variety of movements, because it doesn’t feel like the same old thing.  Not only that, but I actually can feel the exercises working on the muscles in my body as I’m doing the movements.  Her ab webisode is a staggering 10 minutes of floorwork and a standing ab section.  It’s great and hurts like a bitch.  It’s definitely not just your basic crunches or Pilates.  The arm webisode is awesome too because the first half of it doesn’t even require weights, it’s just using the resistance of your own body.  This portion also hurts like a bitch, but I instantly feel stronger upon completion, and it makes me feel accomplished as I fight through the pain to the end.

After a trip to the eye doctor today, I found out I am slightly nearsighted, meaning I have slight vision distortion when I look at things far away.  I HAVE noticed the last two years or so that I’ve had some trouble with reading things at a great distance.  However, the eye doctor said it’s not really that bad and definitely not bad enough for me to need glasses yet.  He said I still have 20/20 vision, but it’s a weird feeling.

It’s the first time I’ve ever realized that I am, in fact, getting older and will one day start showing visible signs of aging.

It’s not really something I’ve thought a lot about, to be honest.  I think when we’re young, we feel invincible: forever young.  We don’t think we’ll ever get to be “that age.”  I can’t even imagine what having crow’s feet around my eyes is like, because I stubbornly choose to believe I won’t get them.  The concept of ever turning 40 is so foreign to me.  I can’t picture it.  Maybe I just don’t want to.  I just want to bask in my youth and then deal with its consequences later when I somehow become 40.  Is that acceptable?

“God, grant me the senility to forget the people I never liked anyway, the good fortune to run into the ones I do, and the eyesight to tell the difference.” — anonymous

Leave a Reply

