29: A State of Flux

Friday was quite the long, busy night at the winery.  Fridays are always so stressful.  It’s the busiest night of the week, and customers are never very patient even when they can see it’s crazy.  The weird thing is that Fridays are starting to feel less…glamorous, I guess.  All my days of the week are starting to run together.  Weekends don’t feel like weekends, but sometimes I think Monday is actually Saturday because I might not be working then.  I guess this is what happens when you’re finished with school, don’t have a regular work schedule, but work all the time and hardly ever go out.

That’s another thing: my social life is gone.  Poof.  Vanished into thin air.  I probably shouldn’t have gotten so accustomed to going out every Thursday through Saturday night, seeing friends constantly and drinking and dancing until the wee hours of the morning.  The adjustment to not doing any of those things anymore has been astonishingly difficult.  Well, at least more difficult than I thought it would be.  While I realize this state-of-flux I’m in is fairly temporary for the time being, I can’t help thinking that I will somehow never fully recapture those nights of frivolity or at least, they will be few and far between from now on due to financial instability and just plain old work schedule problems.

Adulthood is a strange land to navigate.

Leave a Reply

