Running at the Edge of the Cliff

One of my college acting teachers often would encourage us to make bold acting choices.  He’d say, “Make each beat as different from the last as possible.”  That was one of his favorite phrases.  He was trying to get us to find the contrast within each moment and take advantage by committing to it as fully as possible.

His other favorite phrase was “Always run at the edge of the cliff.”

It’s something that has stuck with many of us because of its practical applications not only in acting but also in everyday life.  Running at the edge of the cliff means giving one hundred percent knowing there’s a chance you could either succeed or fall.  Being crazy enough to live (or act) on the edge of danger; the thin line between life and death.

I have been thinking a lot about “running at the edge of the cliff” lately.  It seems as though it’s been a somewhat uneventful summer, but looking back on it, I’m realizing I’ve made a lot of choices.  I don’t know if each choice has been as different from the last as possible the way my acting teacher always preached, but the fact remains I’ve actually MADE choices instead of avoiding them.  It takes guts to make choices but even more guts to make bold ones, and I think I’m reaching a point where some bolder choices will have to be made.  It’s just one of those times when I’m realizing that while I’m still rather young, I’m not getting any younger.  Why am I putting things off?

I can sense I’m standing on a precipice in two areas of my life, and for the first time, I’m actually more excited than scared.  I don’t know what’s going to happen, but that doesn’t bother me; I’m hopeful instead.  It’s certainly different from several months ago when I felt like I couldn’t see a light at the end of the tunnel whatsoever.  It never ceases to amaze me how much situations and feelings can change in a matter of months.

I’ve been scared of running on that edge, but now I think I’m finally ready to just commit and GO.  I can’t control what happens, but that’s the beauty and danger of living on the edge of things; all things are possible.  I just have to trust myself and my instincts.

On your mark.  Get set.  GO.

Leave a Reply

