The Thankful Challenge: Day 3 & 4

3

It wasn’t my greatest Saturday by any means.  I spent most of the day deep cleaning my apartment: sweeping, vacuuming, mopping, etc.  I was on my hands and knees at one point, which to any discerning eye probably looked like I was a reprimanded Scientologist serving out a punishment on one of their Sea Org boats.  I had my New Order pandora station blaring on my computer.  It was a productive day.

Then I went to make lunch and dropped a bunch on my newly cleaned floor.  I ran into a door frame with my elbow.  The piéce de resistance, however, happened as I was cleaning my bathroom.  I was cleaning my tub and shower, so I turned on the water to rinse.  I tried adjusting the shower head, and it broke off, spraying water all over me and one of our bathmats.  I felt like I had just gotten off a log flume ride at an amusement park.  After making a trip into the City to Home Depot to purchase a new shower head, my day had gone from okay to Emmy and the Terrible, Horrible, No-Good, Very Bad Day.

To de-stress from my day, I popped in Pride & Prejudice and let Elizabeth and Darcy wash away my bad day.  I’m thankful for movies and the escape they provide.  I’ve noticed that sometimes, music is what soothes me, and of course writing as well, but often I’m drawn to the darkness of a movie theatre where I can just be alone and engrossed in a story for a couple hours without distractions.  Music has healing powers, I believe that, but movies possess a different kind of magic, and I always emerge from their spell feeling altogether better somehow, even inspired.  It’s not something I can fully describe, but I know it when I feel it.

4

Like pretty much everyone else, I’m truly thankful for that extra hour we accrue towards the tail end of fall, which signals daylight savings time.  Not only do I immediately feel better rested, but also this time of year makes me feel more productive because I suddenly have an extra hour to get things accomplished.

This is especially necessary since I wound up getting a last-minute audition for Arizona Broadway Theatre’s summer season on the 5th and needed time to prep.  I submitted on a whim, because my dear friend Margaret (or Madge, as we all call her) worked for them last summer and suggested I throw my name into the ring because they’re doing Into the Woods, one of my favorite musicals and one I feel destined to perform.  So I emailed and mentioned I was close friends with Madge, and when I didn’t hear back, I assumed I hadn’t secured an audition.  But then I awoke several days later to an email giving me a Monday slot.

I haven’t been to a music theatre audition in nearly five months.  I decided a while back to take a break from it, because I just wasn’t happy for some reason.  I’m not sure if I got burnt out or frustrated or what, but something just didn’t feel right, and my heart wasn’t in it.  My self-imposed break from it has been pretty enlightening in a lot of ways that I won’t get into here (maybe at some later date), but returning to it today felt pretty good.  Singing into exhaustion felt good; a bit like being back in college when it was fun.  And isn’t that what it should be always…fun?

Leave a Reply

